What is right and what is wrong?

Ever since I was little, my parents have been trying to teach me what is right and wrong. What is nice and what is not, what is kind and what is not, what is fair and what is not. But it is not just their sayings, punishments, and long talks that have made me understand what is okay and what is not. It has been my experiences in life.

It can be hard to pin point where I draw the line, where anybody draws the line because it is different for everyone. But it is a line that must be drawn. After reviewing the ethics code in two of my communication courses, I know that it will not be the last time I will discuss them as they will become an integral part of my career.

Integrity– To me, my work is my pride. I put 100 percent effort into the job at hand. It is incredibly important to not put my reputation or myself in a situation where they may be put at risk.

Responsibility– We all make mistakes. None of us are perfect in life. However, with the actions that we take we must accept responsibility whether we acted in the right or in the wrong.

Honesty– The truth will prevail. In my mind, the truth is inevitable and will be released in only a matter of time. Therefore, in my work and in my life, I find honesty to be the absolute best policy.

Independency-While I find collaborating in groups to result in high success rates in the accumulation of ideas, owning up to one’s ideas, works, and actions is incredibly important and follows the similar concepts as responsibility.

Fairness– I find my last code of ethic to be the hardest, as what really is fair? Fairness can be drastically different from person to person. However, as long as the person acting is believing they are being fair to themselves and all other parties involved to the best of their abilities, they will be doing their best.

Life is a tricky thing. Mistakes, accidents, successes, wins, advancements, setbacks; each plays a role in our work and in our lives. That is why we must do our best to follow our own set of values, to live life the best way we know how.

About kaengert

Currently a student majoring in PR. Coffee addict, die hard Shonda Rhimes fan, and looking to purchase my next plane ticket.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

