A trip down memory lane

In the past, the museums I have visited have been heavy. I have seen the Holocaust museum in Berlin and the 9/11 museum in New York. Both which have forever left an impact on my life. This past weekend, I got the opportunity to have yet another museum impact my life, I got the opportunity to visit the Newseum in D.C. The Neweum had a little bit of everything some fun, some emotional, some surprising elements.

The imprint on our life

unnamed-2

“To my sister, unborn nephew and niece, and my brother-in-law I miss you so much.” -Brandon Burnett Photo Source- Kristina Engert

Seeing information on the 9/11 never fails to strike me. Even though I was relatively young, I still remember that day. I recognized the panic and distraught faces. The sudden sense of urgency. All of that is reflected in the 9/11 exhibit. From what seems like hundreds of front pages from all over the world to the quotes that many have written that display on the wall. The quote in the picture on the left stuck with me. This man had lost his sister, unborn niece and nephew, and brother-in-law that day. As I stared at this dismantled piece of metal, I really felt the loss that Burnett felt. The energy in the room was somber. Observing the visitors expressions was fascinating as everyone had different expression, but they all held one emotion in common, loss.

 

What we take for granted

unnamed-5

At first glance, it looks as if there is an even amount of green and red, until the yellow comes into play.             Photo Source- Kristina Engert

When I first saw the world map with all the red, yellow and green scattered across it, I was in disbelief. I kept thinking that in this day in age there was no way that this many countries still did not have freedom of press. It was really shocking to see visually because everyday I take for granted the freedom of press that the United States has.

In my future industry, sports PR, there is tons of international relationships throughout the industry. Many companies that sponsor sports are international as well as the athletes participating in these sports. It is crucial to understand what state each country is in and how it may affect the athlete or company that I am working with as a PR professional.

The American way

While wondering around the Newseum, I observed not just the exhibits but the people. I looked at the writing on the walls, the layout of the museum, the employees. I felt as if the overall vibe of the museum was positive and energetic. While their were many exhibits that held grim information, it was more about relaying the importance of reporting. Through observation, I noticed that this was the clear message at the Newseum.

unnamed-4

“The American people don’t believe anything until they see it on television.”                     Photo Source- Kristina Engert

As I was taking in the Newseum, this quote was engraved i in one of the passing walls. I found this quote to be extremely interesting because it wasn’t given by a reporter but a previous president of the United States.

I stood there and really thought about this quote for a minute. Letting the words sink in, I realized how true this statement is and how it applies to my industry. In the sports world, so much of the information is relayed through television. Many rumored events are confirmed on TV, the sport plays are seen on TV, the commercials for the sport companies are made on TV. Television has become a huge confirmation for the world because seeing is believing

Visiting the Newseum was truly an eye-opening experience that I recommend to anyone entering the PR or journalism world. It reflects on how our world handled the worst times and the best times, and how it will handle wonderful and horrific events moving forward.

For more information about the Newseum, visit their site here. For ticket prices click here.

 

 

About kaengert

Currently a student majoring in PR. Coffee addict, die hard Shonda Rhimes fan, and looking to purchase my next plane ticket.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

